The Australian and International Pilots Association (AIPA) is a professional association that represents Qantas Group pilots in airline operations within Australia and around the world.  Our 2,250 pilot members are employed by Qantas Airways Limited, Jetstar Airways Pty Limited, Eastern Australia Airlines Pty Limited, Express Freighters Australia Pty Limited, Network Aviation Australia Pty Ltd and Sunstate Airlines (QLD) Pty Limited.

AIPA was formed in 1981 in response to the changing aviation environment of the time and the need to enhance the industrial position of Qantas pilots.


AIPA seeks to advance the employment interests of its members and, to that end, represents individuals and the membership at large both in the workplace and in the broader aviation industry.

AIPA regularly participates in regulatory, technical and government inquiries and forums to represent the interests of airline pilots.  The Association is recognised by various government and regulatory bodies as having a stakeholder interest in the Australian aviation industry. The Association is the pre-eminent voice of Australian commercial airline pilots. 


AIPA is run by pilots for pilots. It also has a team of dedicated professionals that facilitate the advancement of our members’ interests.

Our main purpose is to assist members with any issues that arise in their employment.  AIPA members receive a range of benefits which include:

  • 24 hour Scheduling Advice
  • Industrial & Legal Assistance
  • 24 hour Accident & Incident Assistance within Australia & abroad
  • 24 hour Pilot Welfare Assistance
  • Safety & Technical Assistance
  • AIPA Women's Group


The Australian and International Pilots Association (AIPA) is governed by a Committee of Management (COM) that has the power to do all things necessary to achieve AIPA’s objectives. The COM is comprised of 40 Qantas Group airline pilots elected by and from the Association’s pilot membership.  Duties and responsibilities of COM members are outlined in AIPA’s registered rules.


The COM operates within strict governance principles and systems to ensure that as a pilots’ union AIPA: achieves its objectives, is financially accountable, complies with applicable laws and regulations and is operationally effective and efficient.

  • Captain Jason Beavan

    Vice President

    Jason joined Qantas in 1994 and is currently a 737 Captain. Jason has been involved in long haul rostering for over 20 years and has been part of the broader industrial team since 2011. He was a member of the AIPA negotiating team that led to EBA9 in 2015 and is involved in short haul negotiations in 2018.


    Jason joined AIPA’s Committee of Management in 2012 and was elected to the position of Vice President in 2013. His portfolios include Rostering, Scheduling, Accommodation, Legal and Industrial.

  • Captain Brad Hodson


    Brad has been an AIPA Vice President and Short Haul Representative since 2009, and a Committee of Management member since 2007. He was AIPA's lead negotiator in Short Haul EA bargaining in 2012-14 and negotiated the reduction in numbers process for B747, B767 and A380 crew to avoid potential redundancies among the Qantas pilot group.

    Brad has been involved in a number of legal cases including the Jet Connect case, the Long Haul dispute and has provided significant commentary to the media. He has most recently become a Captain on the B787 and taken coverage of 787 and other Long Haul matters, relinquishing his role of Short Haul Representative to Jason Lipson. 

  • Captain Philip Peatfield

    Vice President Group Airlines

  • Captain Shane Loney

    Vice President

    Shane joined Qantas in 1995 and is currently a Captain on the A330. Shane has been on the AIPA Committee of Management since 2006 and has assisted in a number of portfolios.

    Shane was elected as Vice President in November 2013. As the Director of Safety and Technical, Shane manages the work of AIPA Safety and Technical staff and AusALPA volunteers. His portfolios include Workplace Health and Safety and Fatigue Risk Management Systems.



  • Captain Theron Busby

    Vice President "A" Pilots

    Theron is the Vice President ‘A’ Pilots and has been on AIPA’s Committee of Management since 2002.


    Theron has been on the B737 since 1991 and is committed to improving the working conditions and pay of Qantas Group pilots.

  • S/O Paul Bond


  • Captain Chris Hewett


    Chris joined Qantas in 1996 and is a Captain on the B737.  He joined AIPA’s Committee of Management in 2011, and was elected to the position of Secretary in late 2014. Chris is also a member of the 2015 Long Haul EA Negotiating Team and is currently negotiating the Short Haul EA.

    Chris has completed a Bachelor of Laws (Honours), Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice and a Master of Laws. Chris has also been admitted to the Supreme Court of New South Wales and the High Court of Australia as a lawyer.

  • F/O Jason Lipson

    Assistant Secretary

    Jason joined Qantas in 2002 with a background in general aviation.  He has flown the B747-200/300/400 but is currently a Sydney based First Officer on the B737.  Jason was involved in Long Haul Rostering prior to joining AIPA’s Committee of Management in 2009. He was elected AIPA’s Assistant Secretary in October 2013.

    Jason is the Short Haul representative and serves on the Rostering and Safety & Technical committees.  He is AIPA's representative on the One World Cockpit Crew Coalition and AusALPA.