Back to News

Qantas has confirmed its proposed pilot training academy will be operating from two Australian regional centres by 2020.

In June, the airline group announced a shortlist of nine regional centres were being considered for the school, comprising three in New South Wales (Dubbo, Tamworth and Wagga Wagga), two in Queensland (Mackay and Toowoomba) and one in each in the Northern Territory (Alice Springs), Tasmania (Launceston), Victoria (Bendigo) and Western Australia (Busselton).

The academy is due to open in 2019 and would initially train about 100 pilots a year for the Qantas group of airlines.

However, looking further ahead, Qantas has previously indicated this could grow to 500 pilots a year on a fee for service basis depending on demand from other parts of the industry.

When the shortlist was announced, Qantas said it was considering the idea of a second academy, given the broader demand for pilots from other airlines, the defence force or service providers such as the Royal Flying Doctor Service.

Read the entire article at